Boggled, dammit, fashion, Social Commentary

The Cult Of Fast Fashion

Hello, my name is Monroe and I’m a fast fashionaholic. It’s been 1 month since I’ve purchased a $4.80 tank top from Forever 21 and 3 weeks since buying a sweater for $14.99 from H&M.

As we go into winter months and my closet is still brimming with flimsy tanks meant for 90 degree river trips, it’s hard to not steer my car towards the nearest mall. Plus I love a good mall pretzel in cold weather. Or any weather. Basically just cover me in nacho cheese and call it a day.

I, like most women,  avoided watching The True Cost. It sat there on Netflix, totally free and ready to be streamed. It waited patiently next to Blackfish. Things I cared about, wanted to know about but also knew would be upsetting to watch and thus started a marathon of The Great British Baking Show instead.

But I finally did watch it and the images can’t be unseen. I can’t buy a $3 tank top and know why it’s that cheap and how it got into my hands and be okay with that.

Duh. We all know that before we even watch it. But it’s very easy to avoid watching it. To fully be aware that what we’re doing is wrong but to keep doing it because it’s easy and convenient.

This chick. Oy. She does these videos all the time and she’s now “youtube famous”. Yes, I put quotes around it like a damn grandma because it’s not a real thing to me. I hate that it’s a thing. Oh and now she’s trying to be a singer. Barf. But hey, you go girl…

Pretty sure Bethany Mota doesn’t give two shits about where all her “hauls” come from or who made them. She’s even in The True Cost in a compilation clip of fashion vloggers holding up all their bags and bags of clothes. Even if you did sit her down and make her watch it, I can’t imagine she would care because now she’s in business with these companies, making perfumes and being free advertising for them.

Barf. Barf to you being irresponsible with your platform.

But hey, girl power…..

I’m trying, guys. I’m trying to be nice.

I’ve spent my entire adult life shopping at stores like Forever21 (and joking that there needs to be a Forever31) because I don’t want to grow up and pay $50 for a tank top. I didn’t want the inconvenience of having to find clothes made in the USA or by local designers. It’s a hell of a hard habit to break.

Using cruelty free products, not buying fast fashion, knowing where your food comes from, working out and eating things other than nacho cheese.  These are all adult, responsible things we should be doing. They are hard. They take more time. They make us cranky.

Do it anyway. 

Pick one. Start doing it. 

I started with cosmetics, now I’m working on my closet. I only buy nice cheese from places I know because I don’t have the strength to not occasionally bathe in nacho cheese. Someday I’ll work out again. After December….

In honor of that, all month I’ll feature different designers/small businesses that you can give your money to in good conscience. I’ve been doing a lot of research. And by research I mean I may have spent too much while cyber Monday shopping…..

But by all means, please tell me some places to shop that are ethical, don’t look like cult clothes and won’t cost me $300 for a t-shirt.

I can’t stop with the polls now. Just because you guys love turtles so much.

Standard

One thought on “The Cult Of Fast Fashion

  1. Pingback: Dammit, Nasty Gal | VanityHag

Leave a Reply

